Model and Actor Travis Cure is Today’s Honoree for Friday October 23rd, 2015

TCMy name is Travis Cure, Model and aspiring actor. I’m the eldest of four brothers. I am Miami, Florida native and currently reside in Atlanta GA.

In 2005 I graduated from High School with a 2.0 grade point average; in 2007 I attended Tallahassee Community College, dropping out after less than a year. Misguided, but so desperate to succeed and make something of myself, I enlisted into United States Marine Corps. On February 9, 2009, I was scheduled to leave to report to the military; on February 7th, I found out I was going to be a father. Afraid of what awaited me in the U.S.M.C, afraid of my new responsibility as a single father, I landed in Oceanside California to being my tour of duty. I was determined to become something special for my daughter, for myself, for my brothers, and for my mother. I provided great care for my child, even in my absence due to my career, and in August of 2012, my son was born in Los Angeles, California.

Adding that to my hardship and the stress of the Corps, and fact that I was already a singleTC1 father, I was very aware of my circumstances and quickly owned up and provided for my children with the best of my love, my time and benefits. I was determined to make the best of my life for my children and my family. I had to.

In November 2013, I made the decision to separate myself honorably from the Corps. With a military background under my belt, I was sure to be able to get into school and pursue my dream of becoming a famous football player and take care of my entire family, like I had planned back in 09. It was all I could dream about. Next stop, Atlanta, GA. In search of a school which the military would fully cover, I decided to take my talents to Georgia State University, only to find out that I needed to take the Compass Test for acceptance. Everything seemed to be perfect, until the Math portion of the test; never mind the fact that I had been out of school for almost 10 years and math was my weakest subject. I failed the test twice. Discouraged and clueless on what my next move would be, I was still determined to make something of my life for my family. I HAD TO.

I decided to try my luck as police officer to at least provide some assistance for my children while I pursued my dreams. I never received a call from the police department. I tried to become a Fire Fighter. I passed 3 of 5 tests. No call. Upset, frustrated and lost, I called my mother crying. I was a failure. I was broken. Shortly after, I found a job paying $8.00 an hour and worked there for a year before finding another job paying $11.75. Both jobs required heavy lifting and hard work. With very little time to even think about football, my dream seemed to fade as the years passed. It had become about survival.

TC2

My time in Atlanta had definitely become a blessing. I had no idea I was in the land of acting and modeling…neither sparked my interest. But determined to become a success at all costs, I was desperate, so I gave it a try. I began landing photo shoots, magazine editorials, runway shows, music videos, etc. My popularity in the industry began to pick up quickly. I became so confident that it would work that I quit my job to pursue it full time. It wasn’t football, but it could work. I could see myself in the lights; I was certain. In November of 2014, my youngest child was born. Now I was without a job, Black, I had 3 children with 3 mothers, 2 pending child support cases and no car… and my mother was still working. I was the typical stereotype. I began to lose faith. There is nothing in this world I wouldn’t do for my family, but I was ready to die.TC3

I say this to say that nobody is perfect. Not on the slightest level. I’ve had my share of bad times, stress, fake people, and I’m a single parent. I prayed and worked so hard to build a life for my family, and to prove that regardless of your circumstances, you can still make a way. You can still have anything you want. It takes some extreme hard work and prayer. I am strengthening my relationship with God, I purchased a car, my modeling career has picked up, and I’m beginning to transition into acting, I have 3 independent film offers, I was named the first Model Ambassador of Krave Magazine, and I am working on booking my mother’s second trip to another state that she has never been. I have a great manager, and a pretty nice sized fan base; I’m also currently attending massage therapy school. I have found my calling, and I’m working so hard. Who knows what the future holds? No matter what happens, I will continue to over train; I will continue to exceed working hard, because my family depends on it. I am a perfectly blessed imperfection, and I’m proud.

Visit Travis Cure for more information.

This entry was posted in Award, celebrity, honoree, Recognition, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Model and Actor Travis Cure is Today’s Honoree for Friday October 23rd, 2015

  1. John Edward says:

    So happy for you brotha and you success.

  2. Yoli says:

    Absolutely, a wonderful inspiration.
    Thank you for sharing your story.

  3. Rita preston says:

    Wishing you the very best in. Life you deserve it

Leave a comment